The Winston-Salem Chamber and their young professional program, Winston Under 40, have unveiled the twenty 2017 winners of the Winston Under 40 Leadership Award.

The Leadership Awards recognize outstanding young professionals that are actively influencing the growth, prosperity and quality of life in Winston-Salem and Forsyth County. This year’s winners stem from a number of varied backgrounds, including higher education, legal, construction, health care and technology.

The judges pored over more than 150 nominations and 66 in-depth applications to come up with the final list of 20 winners in the 2017 class.

This year’s winners will be honored at an awards reception on October 5th at the Forsyth Country Club from 5:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

The Winston-Salem Journal will profile the winners in a special section that will be published in its October 8th Sunday edition.

This year’s winners include:

Jonathan Allen, AV-IT Manager at Inmar

Aaron Berlin, Regional Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor with the NC Conference of District Attorneys

Loryn Buckner, Attorney at Womble Carlyle

Colleen Byers, Director at Bell Davis & Pitt, PA

Brianna Conner, Anchor and Reporter at Hearst Television

Stephen Edwards, Assistant Director of Development at Wake Forest University

Pete Fala, Partner & Architect at STITCH Design Shop

Theresa Forshey, PhD, Quality Engineer at Cook Medical

James P. Grenon, Member Financial Wellness Program Manager at Piedmont Advantage Credit Union

Christopher C. Haigler, Fiduciary Relationship Specialist at Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.

DeEtte Hill, Practice Administrator at Digestive Health Specialists, P.A.

Jill Martin-Byers, Booking Director at Test Pattern & the Downtown Winston-Salem Partnership

Lisa McClinton, Associate Vice Chancellor for Finance and Controller at the University of North Carolina School of the Arts

Jenni Pleasant, Membership Director at Forsyth Country Club

Beth Ann Polivka, BIM Coordinator at Landmark Builders

Josh Rubio, General Manager at the DoubleTree by Hilton Winston-Salem University

Phillip Summers, MPH, Associate Director Program in Community Engagement Clinical and Translational Science Institute at Wake Forest School of Medicine

Coleman Team, Partner at Linville Team Partners and General Partner at Front Street Capital

Garrick Throckmorton, Vice President of Strategy at Allegacy Federal Credit Union

Dipen Vyas, Senior Scientist at Biorg Inc