Recently, I met with policy influencers in Raleigh to discuss the Winston Salem Chamber’s new Legislative Agenda. I’m happy announce that it was well-received. We will work tirelessly to make sure that all of the issues you identified as important are articulated to our legislative delegation.

The House and Senate opened the year on Wednesday, January 9 for a day of ceremonial and organizational meetings. This year’s session, which is called the “long session,” is expected to last through the summer as members enact a two-year budget and consider hundreds of bills.

Neither party possesses a super majority, so we are likely to see more moderate bills passed due to the necessity of bi-partisan support.

As their work gets underway accomplishing the tasks ahead, there will be several seasoned lawmakers serving in leadership positions:

President Pro Tem
Senator Phil Berger (R-Rockingham) *Re-elected

Deputy President Pro Tem
Senator Dan Blue (D-Wake) * Re-elected

Speaker of the House
Representative Tim Moore (R-Cleveland) *Re-elected

Speaker of the House Pro Tem
Representative Darren Jackson (D-Wake) *Re-elected

House Appropriations Committee, Senior Chairs
Representatives Jason Saine (R-Lincoln), Linda Johnson (R-Cabarrus), and Donny Lambeth (R-Forsyth)

House Finance Committee Chairs
Representatives Julia Howard (R-Davie), Mitchell Setzer (R-Catawba), and John Szoka (R-Cumberland)

Chairman of the House Committee on Rules, Calendar and Operations of the House
Representative David Lewis (R-Harnett) *Re-elected

Senate Appropriations/Base Budget Committee Chairs
Senators Harry Brown (R-Onslow), Kathy Harrington (R-Gaston), and Brent Jackson (R-Sampson) *Re-elected

Senate Finance Committee Chairs
Senators Ralph Hise (R-Mitchell), Paul Newton (R-Cabarrus), and Jerry Tillman (R-Randolph)

Senate Rules and Operations Committee Chair
Senator Bill Rabon (R-Brunswick)

I will continue to keep you updated as the legislative session progresses. If you have any questions about advocating for your business, please get in touch.

Calvin McRae, Director of Government Affairs