The Chamber’s 134th Annual Meeting included the presentations of our 2019 awards. Here are the honorees:

Duke Energy Citizenship & Service Award: Mrs. Sylvia Sprinkle-Hamlin

Sylvia Sprinkle-Hamlin exemplifies citizenship and service through her life-long dedication to giving back to the citizens of Winston-Salem. As the executive producer for the National Black Theatre Festival for many years, Sylvia continued to grow the festival founded by her husband, Larry Leon Hamlin. Today, it is one of the premiere events of arts and culture anywhere in the world, generating a multi-million dollar economic impact for Winston-Salem and attracting 60,000 visitors. This year, the Festival celebrated its 30th anniversary.

In 1979, Sylvia joined the Forsyth County Library System as the department head for children’s outreach and she has served as Library Director since 2000. Over the years she has earned many professional accolades including the Roundtable for Ethnic Minority Roadbuilder’s Award and the American Library Association’s Black Caucus Award for Excellence in Librarianship.

She has also worked extensively in the Winston-Salem community serving on the board of directors for Family Services, Smart Start, The Shepherd Center, and The Diggs Gallery of Winston-Salem State University.

Annual Meeting Hamlin

Nigel Alson, Executive Director of the NC Black Repertory Company, accepts the Duke Energy Citizenship & Service Award on behalf of Sylvia Sprinkle-Hamlin. It was presented by Mark Owens and Jimmy Flythe, Director of Government and Media Relations for Duke Energy.

 Truliant Independent Small Business of the Year: Javara

Despite being in operation for less than two years, Javara is already planning to expand coast-to-coast by 2020, running a nationwide organization from its home base in the Innovation Quarter.

Through its integrated clinical research model, the company is offering revolutionary healthcare solutions that will impact millions of patients by improving their care options.

Javara is actively involved with local nonprofits including the American Heart Association and Second Harvest Food Bank. CEO Jennifer Byrne has also established a Winston-Salem based nonprofit, Greater Gift, that has donated more than one hundred thousand vaccines to children in need in developing countries.

Annual Meeting Javara

Javara CEO Jennifer Byrne accepts the Truliant Independent Small Business of the Year award from Mark Owens and Todd Hall, President of Truliant Federal Credit Union.

Truliant Franchise Small Business of the Year: Cyclebar Winston-Salem

Cyclebar franchise owner Dixon Douglas has leveraged a national brand while creating a local atmosphere by thinking outside of the box and focusing on collaboration.

At Cylcebar, you’ll always find local products like the most recent releases from local breweries, Updog Kambucha, or coffee from Moji or Krankies. Douglas frequently partners with other small business owners to celebrate their brands and products.

Equally as important as featuring local goods, Cyclebar also gives back – generating an incredible impact for local nonprofits. Its giving program raised over fifteen thousand dollars in donations to local nonprofits last year.

Annual meeting Cyclebar

Cyclebar Winston-Salem owner Dixon Douglas accepts the Truliant Franchise Small Business of the Year award.

Womble Bond Dickinson Collaboration of the Year Award: Hanesbrands, Inc. and Carver High School

This year’s collaboration of the year award honors a partnership that dates back more than thirty years, between Hanesbrands, Inc. and Carver High School.

Working as a team, employees from Hanes and educators from Carver identify goals and collaborate on ways to influence positive student outcomes. They reward achievements in attendance, academics, and participation in school clubs. These efforts result in meaningful improvements in academic performance and student achievement.

Hanes also sponsors a Day of Caring on campus and helps to facilitate college tours. This collaboration has ultimately impacted generations of Carver students.

annual meeting hanes and carver

Cheryl Lindsay with Hanesbrands and Dr. Carol Montague-Davis, Principal of Carver High School, accept the Collaboration of the Year award from Mark Owens and Stuart Stogner, Dir. of Strategic Client Relations for Womble Bond Dickinson.

Allegacy Innovator of the Year Award: Fluree

Using blockchain technology, Fluree is revolutionizing how companies will do business in the future. A tech startup that’s just four years old, Fluree is already working with some of the largest Fortune 500 companies and has secured record amounts of seed funding, allowing it to scale rapidly and further advance its technological capabilities.

Annual Meeting Fluree

Fluree co-founder Brian Platz accepts the Innovator of the Year award from Mark Owens and Ashley Kohlrus, COO of Allegacy Federal Credit Union.

The 134th Annual Meeting featured a keynote address by David Mounts, Chairman and CEO of Inmar. The event was made possible by Supporting Sponsors: Cook Medical, Duke Energy, and Truliant Federal Credit Union; Gold Sponsors: Allegacy Federal Credit Union and Womble Bond Dickinson (US) LLP; Silver Sponsors: the Triad Business Journal and the Winston-Salem Dash; Workforce Development Sponsor: I.L. Long Construction Co. and AV Sponsor: Live Events Media Group.

Photos: Micah Brown Media